NaNoWriMo

Today is November 21st. I just discovered the National Novel Writing Month competition. Okay, so it’s not really a competition per se, more like a bunch of nuts getting together to encourage each other to write. The object is to write a fictional novel of at least 50,000 words between November 1st and November 30th. I just found out about it today. And being the nut that I am, and the fact that I have always dreamed of writing a novel, but never gotten myself motivated enough to do so, I’m going to make an attempt. It may not be possible. I have a 4 1/2 month old tyke. I work part-time. I have an apartment to clean, food to cook, a husband to make happy. But it’s also Thanksgiving week, meaning I have Wednesday, Thursday and Friday off work. Can it be done? Time will tell. Will I enjoy the challenge? Definitely. So, that said, here’s a link to what I’ve written so far. It may or may not be all of Chapter 1. I would love some feedback. Ask questions, tell me what you think (brutal honesty is just fine), and give me some encouragement. And keep in mind, this is a rough draft – as in, I’m not editing anything (unless that little dotted red line appears under a word – I can’t stand that!). I will try to keep you posted every couple of chapters, so check back often!

My 9 Day Novel

3 Comments

  1. Julie Anne said,

    21 November, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    Love it so far – keep going!! How can I follow??

    • mountainmaidencmm said,

      21 November, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      I’m not sure how to “follow” on this blogging site. I’m sure it has something to do with the RSS feed. Or you can bookmark the site and come back every evening – that’s when I plan on posting updates! Thanks for reading!

  2. 26 April, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    […] to keep this page updated a bit more. My newest edition is a story I started November 2011 for NaNoWriMo. This year, even though I had the whole month, I didn’t make it to the 50,000 words. I tried […]


Leave a Reply

